How to Fake Flawless Skin

24 Mar

If you are one of those people blessed with flawless skin you don’t need to read this. If, like me, you have areas that could use some major disguising improvement, this post is for you.

You probably won’t follow these steps every day (unless you have a lot of time to spare and I sure don’t!) but they come in handy if you are going to be photographed, or when you want to look extra flawless for a special event.

Step One: Primer

The majority of primers are silicone based and work by filling in fine lines and evening out the skins surface.  From my experience there isn’t a huge difference in the brand/type unless you are looking for color correction. If you have normal to dry skin use a silicone based primer and if you have oily skin look for a primer that can mattify the oily areas.

If you are like me and have areas of redness on your face (thanks rosacea !) I HIGHLY recommend Makeup For Ever HD Microperfecting Primer  in green.  Normally I’m not a fan of counteracting red with green because then you just have to cover up the green, but not so with this primer. I don’t know how it minimizes redness and manages not to leave a green tinge to your skin, but it does, and I love it.

Apply primer to clean skin.

Step Two: Foundation

I prefer to apply my foundation before my concealer because I don’t want to inadvertently rub my concealer off while applying my foundation.

The goal with foundation is to choose a color that matches your skin tone exactly.  There are different types of foundation (mineral, oil free, powder, cream, mousse etc.) but I prefer to make my choice based on the best color match. If you have oily skin you can use a mattifying primer to absorb oil before you add foundation. If you need extra moisture you can add moisturizer to your skin (before your primer).

Once again my favorite foundation comes from Makeup For Ever. I have pale skin that has been very hard to match and I found the perfect match with their  HD Invisible Cover Foundation.  With 25 shades to choose from there is a good chance you will find a great match. It provides medium to full coverage but doesn’t look like you are wearing a lot of makeup.

I like to apply my foundation with the beauty blender.  Blotting and blending the foundation with the uniquely shaped sponge means that you won’t have any foundation streaks and if you use it wet you get very natural looking coverage.

  • Wet the beauty blender and then squeeze out the excess water with a towel.
  • Add a dab of foundation to the blender and dab on the cheeks, out towards the hairline and make your way up to the forehead and down the jaw.
  • Use the pointed end to get in the nooks and crannies around the nose and eyes.
  • Once you have covered the whole face using a dabbing motion blend blend blend with the round end.

Step Three: Concealer

I’m going to talk about 2 different kinds of concealer – the kind you use under the eye area and the kind you use to conceal blemishes and discolorations.

Under eye concealer should be one to two shades lighter than your foundation. A yellow-toned concealer will help mask dark circles. I can’t recommend specific products for everyone as it all depends on individual skin tone. What works for me is not going to work for everyone. (Right now I’m using Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Eden as a corrector/base  and then I follow up with Maybelline Dream Mousse Concealer in Ivory.)

  • Apply the concealer (with either a brush, beauty blender or your fingertips)starting at the inner corner of the eye (near the tear ducts).
  • Cover the entire area below the lower lashes.
  • Pat the concealer gently to blend (again using either  a finger or beauty blender).
  • Use a small soft brush to set the concealer with powder (see below).

To conceal spots and blemishes you want to select a concealer that matches your skin tone.  A concealer that is too light  will only draw attention to the things you are trying to hide.

I’m currently using MAC Studio Stick SPF 15 Foundation but it looks like they only have a couple of shades on the website now. I like foundation sticks because they come in more colors so you are more likely to find something that matches your skin tone.

  • Using a small concealer brush, apply a dab to the area you want to cover and a little bit around the perimeter.
  • Blend the concealer in the perimeter into the surrounding skin, but don’t blend the concealer directly on top of the blemish as you might blend it right off.
  • Set with a smidge of powder.

Step Four: Powder

Powder is the final step in the flawless complexion application. (Please note that if you plan to use a cream or gel blush you should apply this BEFORE the powder).  Once again my favorite powder is a Make Up Forever product. I really like HD Microfinish Powder because one shade works for all skin tones.

  • Using a small fluffy brush dip the brush in the powder, tap off the excess and apply under the eyes (over your concealer) and around the nose.
  • Using a large fluffy brush dust the powder across your cheeks, forehead, nose and chin.

Et voila! Flawless looking skin!

One Response to “How to Fake Flawless Skin”

  1. Elainea A March 25, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Great tips! I need all the help I can get to fake flawless skin 😉

Leave a Reply

