Smashbox Liquid Halo HD Foundation Review

29 Oct

With my last Sephora order I chose a sample of the Smashbox Liquid Halo HD Foundation. Normally I don’t have much luck with foundation samples because I have very pale skin and most of the time they only send one color. This sample included 4 colors and the lightest color was actually a pretty good match for me.

SB_C199_430

Smashbox description:

Light Technology completely evens out skin for a totally natural, luminous finish. (Think gel-covered pigments that mimic photo filters to blur imperfections.)

Created in our studios, this HD formula was developed to keep up with advancing photo technology by giving you flawless coverage that’s undetectable to the naked eye.

•    Works with all undertones
•    Buildable sheer-to-medium coverage
•    Long-wearing
•    Moisturizing
•    Sweat and humidity resistant

The foundation comes in 10 shades. What I liked about it was that it felt light and natural on the skin, looked sheer, but still provided decent coverage.  This would be the perfect weekday makeup for me – when tinted moisturizer doesn’t have enough coverage but a full foundation feels like too much.

It blended VERY well. Normally I apply with a Beauty Blender or use my fingers and blend it out with the blender afterwards. After I applied the Smashbox foundation I didn’t even feel the need to go over it with the blender (but I did out of habit).

Did I mention that it has SPF? Well it does which is a big selling point for me because I am fanatical about wearing sunscreen.

Smashbox Liquid Halo HD Foundation can be purchased from the Smashbox website for $42.

I think its worth the investment if a medium/sheer coverage, everyday, natural-looking foundation is what you are looking for.

5 Responses to “Smashbox Liquid Halo HD Foundation Review”

  1. smoulderingviolet October 29, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    I typically don’t like SPF in foundations because they tend to make it shiny and not in a glowing sort of way. How did it wear through out the day? Did it oxidize to funny colors?

    -Katie
    smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

    • skpixie09 October 29, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      I didn’t find it shiny after the initial application and haven’t noticed any oxidation. It’s almost lunch time here and I have a bit of shine in my T-zone but I have combination skin and normally by 9:00 my tzone is a disaster. If only I could find a great mattifying product now…

      • smoulderingviolet October 29, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

        Have you tried the Neutrogena Shine Free powder?

      • skpixie09 October 29, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

        Unfortunately we don’t get Neutrogena cosmetics here in Canada (just the skincare). I did try the Rimmel version and it didn’t do anything.

      • smoulderingviolet October 29, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

        you might be able to order it off amazon or ebay. It’s definitely the best if you need real shine control as opposed to just canceling out the shine of an spf foundation.

Leave a Reply

